+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: XSEED malware mavmor.in

  1. #1
    Senior Member Truffled Trifle Cobaltwire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Your Kitchen
    Posts
    589

    XSEED malware mavmor.in

    I didn't know where to put this thread at, but this shows up whenever I enter the forums from the xseedgames.com home page. Just wanted to bring this to xseeds attention. Seriously hoping another attack isn't about to happen. I tried looking into what this mavmor is, but couldn't find anything on it.

    Last edited by Cobaltwire; 04-11-2012 at 12:47 AM.
    Raptr Forum Signature Can I eat it? Does it taste good?

  2. #2
    The Real Hero Toothsome Nibblets KnightofAncient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    252
    Somehow Google Safe Browsing thinks that this site is connected to mavmor.in. Similar error pops up when using Safari which apparently also uses Google Safe Browsing. If you click on the URL for mavmor.in which leads to the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page, mavmor.in is treated as a website. I traced mavmor.in to a location in France. I have never heard of a Forum provider provide a U.S. Forum from a webserver in France.

    Edit: Interestingly Safari and Google Safe Browsing acts up when I access this forum on my desktop, not on my laptop.

    Edit 2: Google Safe Browsing in my Safari Browser on my laptop is now giving me the warning notifications.
    Last edited by KnightofAncient; 04-11-2012 at 02:35 AM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Truffled Trifle TG_Judgement's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    452
    I recall seeing this happen to other websites in the past. Hopefully it'll be fixed up soon enough.

  4. #4
    The Real Hero Toothsome Nibblets KnightofAncient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    252
    Well the false alarms I have seen have shown a name of a malware, and dont say that the site has questionable content of a different site.
    Last edited by KnightofAncient; 04-11-2012 at 02:59 AM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Truffled Trifle Raguna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Toa Alta, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    1,963
    This also happened to me. I used Google Chrome but when I used Internet Explorer nothing showed up.
    Hope will never die because in our times of despair, hope is the warmth that we all have that we can share. No matter how much life seems to hurt, stand up and never give up. Fight it and come back VICTORIOUS!!!

    Whenever our souls feel in pain. We intertwine and make a miracle. The miracle that is our love.
    White Clarity

  6. #6
    Thanks to KnightofAncient directing me here. I'm getting the same thing. Good to know it's a false alarm.

  7. #7
    The Real Hero Toothsome Nibblets KnightofAncient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    252
    The source data for IE's Smart Browsing feature is different than those used in Firefox, Chrome or Safari which use data from Google Safe Browsing.

    There is a possibility it can be a real since the problem is not malware but according to the notification it is content from another site in the Forum's source code thats raising the red flag.
    Last edited by KnightofAncient; 04-11-2012 at 03:52 AM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Truffled Trifle Cobaltwire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Your Kitchen
    Posts
    589
    Considering xseed had been targeted before by attackers, I'd stay cautious.
    Raptr Forum Signature Can I eat it? Does it taste good?

  9. #9
    Senior Member Truffled Trifle Gintoki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    6,033
    Hmm, well I use IE, and even I get warnings from my anti-virus program once in a while...
    Currently Playing: Fire Emblem: Awakening, Digimon Adventure, Sonic and All Stars Racing Transformed

    Games Beaten in 2013: 9: Retro Game Challenge, Corpse Party 2U, Code of Princess, Dark Souls, Fire Emblem: Awakening, Atelier Meruru, Yakuza: Dead Souls, Liberation Maiden, Dr Who: The Eternity Clock

  10. #10
    Member Pop 'N Fresh Rebel40000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    64
    I've been getting the same thing too. Good thing I saw this topic 'cause I was about to post something like this elsewhere.
    Perfectly perfect as always. `'`

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts