View Full Version : XSEED malware mavmor.in
Cobaltwire
04-11-2012, 12:42 AM
I didn't know where to put this thread at, but this shows up whenever I enter the forums from the xseedgames.com home page. Just wanted to bring this to xseeds attention. Seriously hoping another attack isn't about to happen. I tried looking into what this mavmor is, but couldn't find anything on it.
http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/ff227/cobaltwire/NewBitmapImage4.jpg
KnightofAncient
04-11-2012, 01:02 AM
Somehow Google Safe Browsing thinks that this site is connected to mavmor.in. Similar error pops up when using Safari which apparently also uses Google Safe Browsing. If you click on the URL for mavmor.in which leads to the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page, mavmor.in is treated as a website. I traced mavmor.in to a location in France. I have never heard of a Forum provider provide a U.S. Forum from a webserver in France.
Edit: Interestingly Safari and Google Safe Browsing acts up when I access this forum on my desktop, not on my laptop.
Edit 2: Google Safe Browsing in my Safari Browser on my laptop is now giving me the warning notifications.
TG_Judgement
04-11-2012, 01:15 AM
I recall seeing this happen to other websites in the past. Hopefully it'll be fixed up soon enough.
KnightofAncient
04-11-2012, 02:40 AM
Well the false alarms I have seen have shown a name of a malware, and dont say that the site has questionable content of a different site.
Raguna
04-11-2012, 03:22 AM
This also happened to me. I used Google Chrome but when I used Internet Explorer nothing showed up.
The Shadow Court
04-11-2012, 03:40 AM
Thanks to KnightofAncient directing me here. I'm getting the same thing. Good to know it's a false alarm.
KnightofAncient
04-11-2012, 03:41 AM
The source data for IE's Smart Browsing feature is different than those used in Firefox, Chrome or Safari which use data from Google Safe Browsing.
There is a possibility it can be a real since the problem is not malware but according to the notification it is content from another site in the Forum's source code thats raising the red flag.
Cobaltwire
04-11-2012, 03:49 AM
Considering xseed had been targeted before by attackers, I'd stay cautious.
Gintoki
04-11-2012, 03:52 AM
Hmm, well I use IE, and even I get warnings from my anti-virus program once in a while...
Rebel40000
04-11-2012, 04:07 AM
I've been getting the same thing too. Good thing I saw this topic 'cause I was about to post something like this elsewhere.
H.Protagonist
04-11-2012, 04:19 PM
Dammit, Jim, I'm a text monkey not a tech person! Argh to this.
Thanks for the heads up, guys. Looking into it. Seems that Firefox doesn't share the same problems that certain versions of IE, Chrome and Safari do, so steer clear of those browsers and go through the fox when using the forums for now. Soon as I have updates I'll let everyone know.
KnightofAncient
04-11-2012, 05:45 PM
Just want to pass on the information that the reason the notification may not appear in Firefox if the Google Safe Browsing extension was not installed during the main firefox installation. As for IE, IE 9 or previous IE versions do not give the warning message unless your Anti-Virus (still some Anti-Virus's might allow you access) has a separate Toolbar installed in IE.
Powered by vBulletin™ Version 4.1.2 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.